START is a two-day program that occurs during the summer and is required for you to attend if you are entering Oregon State in the fall or summer term. You will need to attend both days and on-campus housing accommodations are offered, but it is not required for you to stay on campus during START.

At START you will:

  • Meet with advisors
  • Register for your fall term courses
  • Tours your residence hall and learn about what to expect
  • Meet other new students and hear from a current student’s experience
  • Learn about what it means to be part of the OSU Community
  • Take care of any business you still need to prepare for fall term

Dates for 2019 are:

Off-Site Programs

  • June 8 or June 9: San Jose, California
  • June 15: Honolulu, Hawaii

Programs On Campus

  • Monday, June 24- Tuesday, June 25
  • Thursday, June 27- Friday, June 28
  • Monday, July 1- Tuesday, July 2
  • Sunday, July 7- Monday, July 8 (Bilingue*)
  • Thursday, July 11- Friday, July 12 
  • Monday, July 15- Tuesday, July 16
  • Thursday, July 18- Friday, July 19
  • Monday, July 22- Tuesday, July 23
  • Thursday, August 22- Friday, August 23
  • Monday, August 26- Tuesday, August 27
  • Monday, September 23: you will need to attend this session only if you are unavailable to attend any of the above sessions.

*Our START Bilingue session offers 2 parent/family track options: one track where print materials and presentations are given in English, and one track where print materials and presentations are given in Spanish. On the  START registration website, if a student chooses the July 1-2 START session, they will have the option to sign their parents/families up for the Spanish-speaking track if that is their preference.